I like being unreasonable.

I have to say thanks to my philosophical twin for always sharing the best articles.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Good question. I love answering these things. At the moment… these are my goals for the next chapter, in no particular order:

  • Find a job that allows me to travel, doing some kind of rewarding work. May include tourism but hopefully service-learning.
  • Go to South Korea. Learn about the culture I know so little about besides delicious food and the capital city.
  • Visit friends living in other parts of Europe while I’m over in this hemisphere. Including, but not limited to, England, Portugal, Czech Republic, Austria, Germany, Italy, France, Switzerland, Sweden, and Denmark. Not ambitious at all…
  • Go back to Chile. If not for an extended period of time, at the very least to visit my family.
  • Apply, get accepted, and start a Master’s program – Public Policy/Administration or International Development.
  • And for fun, cross off some more bucket list items… do polar bear plunge, go surfing, see a meteor shower, sleep in a haunted place.

Motivation!!!

I’ve been making plans for the next few months at least around the area, Spain, Europe… lots of events and adventures to come.

We went on another day trip last Sunday around Gipuzkoa and then to France.

First stop was a small beach town called Zarautz, my favorite beach along the Biscay coast so far. Cafes all along a beach boardwalk with gorgeous mountains surrounding the area. Next up was San Sebastian, probably the most touristic of the cities in the north. I’d also been there many times before, and always have to hit up my favorite pintxo spots. Yum! We climbed up one of the hills in the city with an old castle on top overlooking the city and beaches.

Last on the trip was a new place for me, San Juan de Luz in France! We made it just in time for sunset – beautiful pink and purple sky from the beach. Don’t be fooled by all this beach talk though, it was freezing out, but I still love nothing more than being next to the sea. We went to a bar for some pre-dinner drinks and realized it was ironic that our group of North Americans, a German, and a Basque went to an Irish bar in France and were given Spanish wine from La Rioja. Ha! Dinner was authentically French and delicious, and ordering was quite a feat. Good thing I studied French for 5 years and remember only a handful of words and phrases. Merci beaucoup!

This weekend is Carnaval. Instead of Mardi Gras, which is really only celebrated in New Orleans in the US, we have a few days of celebrating here and everyone dresses up like our version of Halloween. Only when they go out with their group of friends (cuadrilla), they all wear the same costume – i.e. 10 Star Wars storm troopers, 5 chickens, etc. As foreigners, we still haven’t been able to get our act together so we’ll probably have an assortment of unrelated characters again.

Next weekend I’m hoping to finally get out to the Pyrenees to go snowboarding!!!!! It’s only been 3 years since I’ve gone, no big deal. I’ll be sure to let you know how many times I have to starfish down the mountainside. And the following weekend there is a 5K run in San Sebastian. Making the most of the time I have on my long weekends!!

…..And I’m in love with this too:

In the course of your well-lived life, you will make choices that will appear to outside observers – mothers, fathers, friends, family, lovers, haters, anyone who is not you – to be unreasonable. Those choices, your choices, your unreasonable choices, are only unreasonable to other people. They make sense to you, because you see it. You feel it. Desire, vision. It’s yours. And you will get there.

So make unreasonable choices. Because life is an unreasonable affair.

Is there anything truer than that??

Leave a Reply

