Hasta luego 2011

End of the year!

I finally caught up with a dear friend from Chile last night and now I’m missing people and places like crazy, and unrealistic plans are going off – somehow giving me some much needed direction again. We (aka I) get so caught up in the day-to-day problems, anxieties, and stresses, but really, here are the ones that count:

Family and friends moving on from jobs and places that aren’t right anymore, starting their own business, getting arrested multiple times for standing up for what they believe in, getting engaged and marrying their loved ones, coming out as homosexual or bisexual and awaiting the sometimes difficult acceptance, having kids and beginning the never-ending job of a parent, beating leukemia and successfully recovering from chemotherapy, overcoming the pain of divorce, death and loss. No matter what, making it work out even when shit’s tough.

Beautiful courageous souls, you’re the ones that make everything more worthwhile. I hope to be so lucky to be just a bit as strong as you.

We’ve got  all these massive world problems relating to economy, wars, politics, disasters, it’s a bit depressing. What can you do really? I still hold to the common factor – People are what matter the most, they always will be, and that’s something that you can impact in any given moment.

For 2012… Nothing is a waste of time or energy when it’s for these people you love. Super cliche!!! But seriously… make it count.  As a kick off to the new year, I now have 2 requests.

1. Please consider donating to my friend Marisa’s marathon fundraising – benefiting cancer research. I’m grateful to know some who have survived this awful disease, while also knowing a ridiculous number of people who have suffered, and here I am, only 24. Our world is small, tiny, and and I think we all know someone with this story, but it doesn’t make each individual count any less and I also look forward to the day when I don’t know anyone with cancer.

2. I can’t believe how quickly I followed Sam’s recommendation, I think a record of a few hours later? (although film before book)… One Day, by David Nicholls (thanks as always!!). So quoteable of course because I’m a cheeseaholic, but besides the best ones she’s already told you all, this one stuck with me – simple and true.

“Call me or I’ll call you, but one of us will call, yes? What I mean is it’s not a competition. You don’t lose if you phone first” 

You know we all run out of time in the day and put it off, but a phone call is the easiest thing we can do. And way better than a text, Facebook post or email. Makes me want to delete Facebook and boycott texts again… but real human voice or in-person contact is infinitely more meaningful. Even just to say hi, you don’t need some big news or anything, because man, even when it’s been a while, these people, they just get it don’t they? And personally, I love hearing about the funny looking lady you rode the bus with or boring factoid you learned about potatoes. Safe to say I’ll probably be making a round of calls soon. If you don’t hear from me, well, it just means I must not really like you! Ha! I kid. 🙂

Happy New Year!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

