Did I just find my dream (for right now) job?

Music has always been a matter of energy to me, a question of fuel. Sentimental people call it inspiration, but what they really mean is fuel. I have always needed fuel. I am a serious consumer. On some nights I still believe that a car with the gas needle on empty can run about fifty more miles if you have the right music very loud on the radio.
– Kingdom of Fear (2004), Hunter S Thompson

I’m re-falling in love with my music library. It’s been a while. Oh dear music industry, you left me so jaded and cynical at times! That was predicted, but no more!! I can love music again, the way it should be. Less analyzed, not thinking of target markets, and just simply ENJOYING it flowing into my ears. Recent live shows have helped too so I need to keep that going.

The point is… Remember when I knew exactly what I wanted to do and then was suddenly completely undecided about my career path? Well that still hasn’t changed. BUT I may have found something that is an incredibly and unbelievably perfect combination of my experience and interests – Non-profits, higher education, music, travel, international work… I don’t think I’ve been this excited about a job since I landed the position at FUEL TV when I wanted to be a music supervisor. Anyways, I’m going to apply and see what happens. Vague for now, but cross your fingers for me and send some positive energy my way!!

Now a few random plugs…

I just discovered this great application called DROPBOX, quite possibly the best creation for sharing music when making mix tapes, burning CDs, and passing USB drives is not an option. Download it and then add other people to share music (or other files). I just picked up some new artists and my hard drive is maxing out, but I’m still craving more. Moral of the story – Get Dropbox and we’ll do some music swaps.

And this is completely unrelated but AMAZING.

Leave a Reply

